Wakefield tennis wraps up season with a celebratory banquet

Jun 12, 2018 by

Published in the June 12, 2018 edition.


STONEHAM — Both the boys’ and girls’ tennis teams hosted their banquet last Tuesday at Bear Hill Golf Club and there were plenty of achievements to be recognized.

Boys’ head coach Cheryl Connors and girls’ head coach Kathy Healey remarked on the successful seasons of their respective teams. The coaches expressed their extreme pride in their teams, noting that each player improved, always came ready to play, were very dedicated to the sport, and always had a great attitude no matter the score.

Both teams were only one win away from a state tournament, going a respective 7-9 overall in the Middlesex League, and 6-4 in the Freedom Division.

The Coach’s awards were given out by Connors and Healey to players who best demonstrated spirit and willingness to help the team while improving their game, whether it was getting water for a teammate or working hard in practice. Sophomore Noah Greif was the recipient for the boys, and senior co-captain Laura McGovern for the girls.

The most improved award was given to players who bettered their game both in the offseason coming into this year as well as increasing their level of play throughout the season. Sophomore Lucas Smith and junior Josh Cieniewicz were awarded that title for the boys, and second-year senior Olivia Dziadyk also stepped up her game for the girls.

The most valuable player (MVP) was given to players who helped the team both on and off the court. This meant leaving it all out on the court win or lose while still keeping the energy and spirit high by supportively cheering on teammates in matches. Senior co-captain Haley Tanner captured the MVP for the girls and junior co-captain Johnny Stumpf won it for the boys.

Also, three boys were named to the Middlesex League All-Star Team. They were senior co-captain Max South and sophomores Jack Palmer and Noah Greif.

Both teams announced their captains for the 2019 season. Outgoing captain Max South, announced the captains for the 2019 season which includes returning captain Johnny Stumpf, as well as Greif and Palmer leading the way. Haley Tanner and Laura McGovern, both senior captains, introduced sophomores Marisa Ogier and Sarah Margerison as captains of a younger but motivated girls’ team.

Receiving letters for the girls’ varsity team were Haley Tanner, Olivia Dziadyk, Laura McGovern, Kelsey Callahan, Emily Roberts, Hannah Guay, Erica Pecjo, Marisa Ogier, Effie Koutroubis, Sarah Margerison and Julia Carino.

Receiving letters for the boys’ varsity team were Noah Greif, Martin Timar, Johnny Stumpf, Jack Palmer, Lucas Smith, Max South, Josh Cieniewicz, Ryan McCormack and Ian Schermerhorn.

There was a lot to be proud of on Tuesday night, and each team is looking forward to a successful season in 2019.

Related Posts


Share This