Butler, Greatorex named All-Stars for Wakefield volleyball

Dec 5, 2018 by

Published December 5, 2018

WAKEFIELD — The Middlesex League’s volleyball coaches met recently to make this year’s All-Star selections in both the Liberty and Freedom Divisions. 

The WMHS volleyball team, who finished tied for third in the Freedom Division with Wilmington and set a program record with seven wins overall, had two All-Stars named as seniors Hannah Butler and Jaime Greatorex got the honors. 

Butler was a strong presence in the middle all season for the Warriors. She led the team with 27 blocks, was second in kills with 83 and third in aces with 33. 

Greatorex was the team’s best hitter, typically lining up on the right side as she led Wakefield with 113 kills. Greatorex was third in digs with 119 and added 25 aces. 

Freedom champion Melrose and second-place Burlington led the balloting with four selections each, including league co-MVP’s Nicole Abbott of Melrose and Madison Metzdorf of Burlington. 

MIDDLESEX LEAGUE 2018 All-Stars Jaime Greatorex (18) and Hannah Butler (15).

Wakefield was next with two selections while Stoneham and Wilmington each had one. 

Liberty champion Reading, and co-runners-up Winchester and Belmont both tied with three All-Stars each. Arlington, Lexington and Woburn each had one. 

A new All-Star format this year included a six-person All-Conference team. Reading had two of the six All-Conference team members with senior outside hitter Riley DiLoreto and junior defensive specialist Kaleigh Fitzgerald. Only one player from the Freedom Division made the All-Conference team as Melrose’s junior libero, Nicole Abbott got the nod. 



Name     School     Year

Nicole Abbott     Melrose     Junior – MVP

Erin Torpey     Melrose     Junior

Emma Randolph     Melrose     Junior

Mary-Kate Mahoney     Melrose     Junior

Madison Metzdorf     Burlington     Senior – MVP

Kelly Joyce     Burlington     Junior

Lindsay Baxter     Burlington     Junior

Sophia Lupo     Burlington     Senior

Jaime Greatorex     Wakefield     Senior

Hannah Butler     Wakefield     Senior

Brittany Cimaglia     Wilmington     Senior

Ashley Young     Stoneham     Junior


Riley DiLoreto     Reading     Senior – MVP

Ainsley Cohen     Reading     Senior

Kaleigh Fitzgerald     Reading     Junior

Sophia Estok     Belmont     Junior

Mindee Lai     Belmont     Junior

Jane Mahon     Belmont     Senior

Luna Colozzo     Winchester     Senior – MVP

Dasha Smolina     Winchester     Junior

Camille Tosques     Winchester     Junior

Hannah Summers     Arlington     Senior

Pamela Chiakpo     Lexington     Junior

Tyliah Maldonado-Andre     Woburn     Senior

All-Conference Team

Riley DiLoreto     Reading     Senior

Luna Colozzo     Winchester     Senior

Nicole Abbott     Melrose     Junior

Tyliah Maldonado-Andre     Woburn     Senior

Mindee Lai     Belmont     Junior

Kaleigh Fitzgerald     Reading     Junior

Related Posts


Share This